Drone surrounded by worker bees. © INRA, MORISON Nicolas

Scientists flying to the rescue of bees

Scientific contacts

  

Updated on 03/23/2017
Published on 05/01/2014

Joint Research Unit for Bees and the Environment, Avignon, PACA Research Centre

The primary objectives of its main research areas are to understand the phenomena responsible for the decline of bee populations and the impacts of this situation on biodiversity and plant production, to clarify the effects of pesticides and pathogens, to study the role of pheromones in communication, and focus on pollination and the ecology of wild bees.  This INRA research unit involves 24 research scientists and technicians, who also operate an experimental beekeeping unit.

Director: Yves Le Conte
(Varroa, Swarmonitor, chemical communication, foraging on minefields)
33 (0)4 32 72 26 01 - yves.leconte@avignon.inra.fr

Anne Dalmon (viruses)
33 (0)4 32 72 26 27 - anne.dalmon@avignon.inra.fr

Bernard Vaissière
(pollination, ecology of wild bees)
33 (0)4 32 72 26 37 - bernard.vaissiere@avignon.inra.fr

Cédric Alaux (parasites, immunity, transcriptomics)
33 (0)4 32 72 26 19 - cedric.alaux@avignon.inra.fr

Claude Collet
(ecotoxicology, physiology and behaviour)
33 (0)4 32 72 26 49 - claude.collet@avignon.inra.fr

Didier Crauser (bee counters)
T33 (0)4 32 72 26 59 - didier.crauser@avignon.inra.fr

Jean-Luc Brunet
(toxicology, physiological markers, rearing of male bees)
33 (0)4 32 72 26 29 - jean-luc.brunet@avignon.inra.fr

Luc Belzunces (ecotoxicology, effects of low doses)
T33 (0)4 32 72 26 04 - luc.belzunces@avignon.inra.fr

Mickaël Henry
(landscapes, neonicotinoids and disorientation)
33 (0)4 32 72 26 25 - mickael.henry@avignon.inra.fr

Maryline Pioz (epidemiology)
33 (0)4 32 72 26 89 - maryline.pioz@paca.inra.fr

Nicolas Morison
(interactions between melliferous bees and flowers: FlorApis)
33 (0)4 32 72 26 38 - nicolas.morison@avignon.inra.fr

 

Joint Technology Unit on the Protection of Bees in the Environment

Set up in 2009, this partnership which involves INRA, the Institut de l’abeille (ITSAP), ADAPI and ACTA is seeking to integrate knowledge with respect to the protection of bees in agrosystems.  Its aim is to build up a databank that will enable a clearer understanding of the decline of bees and the design of technical solutions to halt it.  It must be possible for these technical solutions to be adopted by users so that they can contribute to protecting pollinating insects.

Contacts : Yves Le Conte (INRA) and Axel Decourtye (Acta)

 

Entomology Experimental Unit, Le Magneraud, Nouvelle-Aquitaine - Poitiers Research Centre

This INRA unit is trying to develop tests to evaluate the effects of insecticides on bees and study the biology of pollinators in the environment.  The 12 research engineers and technicians in the unit determine the factors that are likely to influence bee biology, with a view to improving farming practices that will better protect pollinating insects.  The unit manages the Ecobee observatory on bees in an open environment, a research tool that is unique in the world.

Director: Pierrick Aupinel
(in vitro larval rearing, larval tests, tests on hypopharyngeal glands)
33 (0)5 46 68 30 02 - pierrick.aupinel@magneraud.inra.fr

Dominique Fortini (larval tests)
33 (0)5 46 68 30 01 - dominique.fortini@magneraud.inra.fr

Jean-François Odoux (ecology of foraging, CSI Pollen, agriculture and bees, Ecobee, pollen extracts)
33 (0)5 46 68 30 07 - jean-francois.odoux@magneraud.inra.fr

 

Joint Research Unit for Vine Health and Agroecology, Nouvelle-Aquitaine - Bordeaux Research Centre

This INRA-Bordeaux Sciences Agro Joint Research Unit works on understanding the hunting behaviour of yellow-legged hornets and the behaviours that ensure social regulation within a hornet colony.  The applied aim of this research is to develop methods to protect bees that will not have any harmful effects on the environment, particularly by designing diversion traps to set around hives.

Director: Denis Thiéry
(eco-ethology of the Asiatic yellow-legged hornet)
33 (0)5 57 12 26 18 - Denis.Thiery@bordeaux.inra.fr

Dominique Blancard (Agiir application)
33 (0)5 57 12 26 08 - Dominique.Blancard@bordeaux.inra.fr

Jean-Marc Armand (leader of the informatics project)
33 (0)5 57 12 26 09 - Jean-Marc.Armand@bordeaux.inra.fr

Olivier Bonnard
(chemical ecology and collection of nests from natural settings)
33 (0)5 57 12 26 39 - olivier.bonnard@bordeaux.inra.fr

Contact(s)
Press Relations:
Inra service de presse (01 42 75 91 86)